About

arts / society /

Since 2011, the Brachland Ensemble has been realising projects between contemporary theatre, journalistic research and political education. The ensemble is made up of theatre artists and cultural workers from the fields of drama, performance, dance and animated film, who work together in changing constellations.

We search for the fallow space that can be anything, where everything is possible. The space between audience and us. The space between performance and theatre, between theatre and film, between documentary and fiction, between stage and reality.

The choice of themes reflects artistic diversity: changes in the social atmosphere, critical discussions of topics from science, politics and the media as well as personal questions form the starting point of the works. This is usually followed by intensive research phases at home and abroad. The ensemble has travelled to India, Tanzania, Ghana, Syria, Japan, Israel and Palestine as well as Sweden, Belgium and Germany and has built up an international network of artists and organisations.

We are curious. We work interdisciplinary and playfully. We investigate individual phenomena of theatre, whole systems and the fool in us. We ask the naive questions. We change the perspective. We show connections and the principle behind them.

Since its foundation in 2011, a wide range of projects has been developed: from solo pieces and reduced performances, to elaborate video exhibitions and site-specific audio walks, actions of political education and plays in large ensemble settings.

2/3: serious, demanding, profound, documentary
1/3: playful, chaotic, sparkling, fictional, ...

So when asked how we work, we say: yeah! Or: foolish! Or: hooray! Depending on who answers. The third third is an consent to Arts and Society. A sense of what we do with it. Together they represent our promise.

Dominik Breuer (Brussels), Maria Isabel Hagen (Hamburg) and Gunnar Seidel (Nuremberg) form the artistic direction. The ensemble works impartially, is guided by the values of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and attaches great importance to paying its artists with decency. There is no fixed venue. The ensemble receives project-related funding.

We are close to the people and want to inspire. We love elaborate stages and yet we can do without everything. We use what is necessary. Our projects are pure and complex. Heterogeneity is our strength. We network and we seduce to discourse.

We are active in a changing world.

Download english info as pdf (2,4MB)

Feature

Awards and nominations

2017: Audience Award, MADE Festival for Ready for Boarding
2017: Jury Prize Hessian Theatre Days for Ready for Boarding

2016: Nomination Innovation Award Socio-Culture for Lebensläufer

2015: Cultural Promotion Prize of the City of Kassel

2013: Prize "Junge Experten" Hessian Theatre Days for Idole
2013: Nomination "Kurt-Hackenberg-Preis" for political theatre, City of Cologne, for Im Schweiße Deines Angesichts

2011: Jury Award "AllesWasTanztGipfel" Cologne, for blinder

About

arts / society /

Seit 2011 realisiert das Brachland-Ensemble Projekte zwischen zeitgenössischem Theater, journalistischer Recherche und politischer Bildung. Das Ensemble setzt sich zusammen aus Theater- und Kulturschaffenden der Bereiche Schauspiel, Performance, Tanz und Animationsfilm, die in wechselnden Konstellationen zusammenarbeiten.

Wir suchen nach dem brachliegenden Raum, der alles sein kann, in dem alles möglich ist. Der Raum zwischen Publikum und uns. Der Raum zwischen Performance und Theater, zwischen Theater und Film, zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion, zwischen Bühne und Realität.

Die Themenauswahl spiegelt dabei die künstlerische Diversität wider: Veränderungen der gesellschaftlichen Atmosphäre, kritische Auseinandersetzungen mit Themen aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Medien als auch persönliche Fragestellungen bilden den Ausgangspunkt der Arbeiten. Daran schließen sich in der Regel intensive Recherchephasen im In- und Ausland an. So bereiste das Ensemble u.a. Indien, Tansania, Ghana, Syrien, Japan, Israel und Palästina als auch Schweden, Belgien und Deutschland und baute ein internationales Netzwerk zu Künstler*innen und Organisationen auf.

Wir sind neugierig. Wir arbeiten interdisziplinär und spielerisch. Wir untersuchen einzelne Phänomene des Theaters, ganze Systeme und den Narren in uns. Wir stellen die naiven Fragen. Wir wechseln die Perspektive. Wir zeigen Zusammenhänge und das Prinzip dahinter.

Seit der Gründung 2011 ist eine große Bandbreite von Projekten entstanden: vom Solostück und reduzierten Performances, über aufwendige Videoausstellungen und ortsspezifische Audiowalks, Aktionen der politischen Bildung bis zum Schauspiel in großer Ensemble-Besetzung.

2/3: ernst, anspruchsvoll, tiefgründig, dokumentarisch, …
1/3: verspielt, chaotisch, glitzernd, fiktiv, …

Auf die Frage, wie wir arbeiten, sagen wir: yeah! Oder foolish! Oder hooray! Je nachdem, wer antwortet. Das dritte Drittel ist eine Zustimmung zu Arts und Society. Ein Gefühl von dem, was wir damit und daraus machen. Zusammen bilden sie unser Versprechen ab.

Dominik Breuer (Brüssel), Maria Isabel Hagen (Hamburg) und Gunnar Seidel (Nürnberg) bilden die künstlerische Leitung. Das Ensemble arbeitet unparteilich, orientiert sich in den Werten an der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte und legt großen Wert darauf, seine Künstler*innen mit Anstand zu bezahlen. Es gibt keinen festen Spielort. Das Ensemble wird projektbezogen gefördert.

Wir sind nah an den Menschen und wollen inspirieren. Wir lieben aufwendige Bühnen und können doch auf alles verzichten. Wir nutzen das Notwendige. Unsere Projekte sind pur und komplex. Die Heterogenität ist unsere Stärke. Wir vernetzen und wir verführen zum Diskurs.

Wir sind Handelnde in einer veränderbaren Welt.

Ensemblemappe als pdf (2,4MB)

Auszeichnungen

2017: Publikumspreis, MADE-Festival für Ready for Boarding
2017: Jurypreis Hessische Theatertagen für Ready for Boarding

2016: Nominierung Innovationspreis Soziokultur für Lebensläufer

2015: Kulturförderpreis der Stadt Kassel

2013: Preis "Junge Experten" Hessische Theatertage für Idole
2013: Nominierung Kurt-Hackenberg-Preis für politisches Theater, Stadt Köln, für Im Schweiße Deines Angesichts

2011: Jurypreis AllesWasTanztGipfel in Köln, für blinder